Skip to content
April 25, 2011 / punkcakes

Brad Breeck of Skull Tape: An Interview

Brad Breeck has been an avid member of the music community: a previous member of the experimental punk band The Mae Shi, writing original music for the Nickelodeon series Fanboy & Chum Chum, and now front man of Skull Tape, whose debut album The Invisible Hand and the Descent of Man dropped April 12th. Skull Tape is a fun, edgy, pop-punk band making noise about the merriment of youth and revolt. I recently talked with Brad about Skull Tape and his past musical endeavors, hear what he has to say in the exclusive interview below!

Q: Give us a brief history lesson on Skull Tape. What’s your background with music, and how did Skull Tape come to life?

I grew up playing in Christian heavy metal bands.  I started playing in the Mae Shi in college.  I stopped doing that a couple years ago to focus on making music for TV and film.  My full time job is doing the music for a show on Nickelodeon [Fanboy & Chum Chum].  On a hiatus from my show last summer, I wrote and recorded the Skull Tape record.  It was partially songs that I had written intended for the next Mae Shi record.   

Q: Who and what influence your music and songwriting?

Musically I’m influenced by – pretty much everything.   There really isn’t any music I don’t like, I listen to a lot of top 40 pop music and am definitely influenced by that.  I spent most of my 20s listening to noise music, 20th century classical and experimental stuff.  If you put me on an island and gave me only one record it would probably be Britney Spears greatest hits, and I say that with all sincerity.  

Q: How would you describe your music to those who are unfamiliar with it?

Hmmm.  I guess caveman power pop for people who drink lots of Mountain Dew.  Our target demographic is 15-year-old dudes who have Green Day posters in their bedrooms and hang out in Hot Topic. 

Q: How did you make the decision to leave your former band The Mae Shi and start your own musical ventures?

Mostly because I started being busy making music for TV and stuff.  I didn’t want to tour anymore either. The guys were nice enough to let me stay home while they toured,  but that eventually got weird and it was best if I stepped aside.   

Q: What are you most stoked about with the release of your debut album, The Invisible Hand and the Descent of Man?

I’m just excited to share the music with people and hope some folks enjoy it.  

Q: What does the future look like for Skull Tape? What can we expect? Shows!?

Working on some videos.  Playing shows.  We have a mixtape/remix record thing that we will be releasing soon.  It’s basically a bunch of new songs constructed from pieces of songs from the record. 

Q: What is it about making (and playing) music that you love? What’s the point?

I like having made something.  Making music is kind of painful and stressful for me, but I love the feeling of having finished something and sharing it with people.  

Q: If you could give any piece of advice to young artists just starting out, what would it be?

Keep making things.  Just make as much stuff as possible.  The more you make the more you learn.  

Q: The obligatory Punkcakes question – Punkcakes is a music blog with a love for the pastry. What is your favorite dessert (or recipe you’d like to share)? 

My favorite dessert is rice krispy treats!  Does that count?!  

YES!

Tracklist:

01 Crop Circles
02 Fable of the Bees
03 The Invisible Hand
04 Many Mountains
05 Max Boot
06 Leviathan Part 1
07 Trans Anthro
08 Drowning in Blood
09 Universal Acid
10 Anon Anon
11 Fight or Die
12 Cosmos and Taxis

Listen to Skull Tape’s rendition of “Whip My Hair” by Willow Smith (a mash up of their own “Drowning in Blood”)

Leave a Reply

