Skip to content
June 3, 2011 / punkcakes

Death Cab For Cutie @Bowery Ballroom

As I have previously stated on this blog, I was a bit heartbroken on Death Cab’s new, way too light and fluffy Codes and Keys; Zooey Deschanel just makes Ben Gibbard way too happy. However, as a devoted DCFC fan for the past seven/eight years I was so stoked on seeing them at Bowery Ballroom this past Wednesday, despite my anxious worry that they would play only Codes and Keys. As my friend stated: “Ben Gibbard may be too happy to write a decent album, but he’s not an idiot. He knows what his fans want”. So I went with the hopes that the boys would pull from their past and play what everyone who was there wanted. Well, Ben Gibbard, you brought me to tears at least three times – and that’s all that I ask of him. It was the PERFECT set, the perfect venue, the perfect night; Ben Gibbards sweat landed on my face more than once. They played everything from “Crooked Teeth” to “Styrofoam Plates” to “A Movie Script Ending” to the Ben Gibbard solo/acoustic “I Will Follow You Into The Dark”. They even went as deep into their roots as 1999’s We Have The Facts and We’re Voting Yes and played “Company Calls” – a personal favorite. I didn’t even hate “You Are a Tourist” as I usually change the radio station the second it comes on. The night was perfect, and the seven year wait to hear my favorite band serenade to me my past went exactly as I hoped it would be. I will never forget it.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. grlinterrupted88 / Jun 3 2011 5:56 pm

    I would have killed to be at that concert. I’ve been to many concerts but never been to a DCFC concert…need to add that to my bucket list. ha. Glad that they are still playing older songs..hopefully by the time i get to see them they will still be playing songs from Something About Airplanes. Champagne from a Paper Cup is definitely one of my fav dcfc songs and a chance to hear it live would be a dream come true.

    • punkcakes / Jun 3 2011 7:16 pm

      Champagne’s one of my favorites too! I go to shows alllll the time, and didn’t expect it to be that amazing. I hope you get to see them, they’re on tour so look it up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

